Hagley College master planning

Dennis Chippindale and Nikki Thebault from the Christchurch firm Stephenson and Turner are Hagley’s master planners. The master planners’ job is to map out the big picture of what’s possible for Hagley. As they’re required to do, they’ve based their work on our Education Brief. If you want an insight into what’s been guiding them, read from pages 21 to 31 [‘Linking the key aspirations of the school to space’ and ‘Description of new and/or redeveloped spaces’, or see the summary in the Hagley College Redevelopment Aspirations document. The word ‘possible’  is used above because it’s important to keep in mind that ours is a partial redevelopment – not a full school rebuild – to a budget of $18 million. A lot of Hagley will stay the same, but hopefully we’ll be able to realise exciting new developments identified in our Brief.

The Hagley College Redevelopment Master Planning document gives you an overview of the redevelopment. At this stage in the master planning process, the broad roles of these new hubs is there, not the detail. Illustrations are indicative only – for example, the ‘Te Taura’ block shown at the front of the school on page 11 appears to be quite solid.  The master planners intend this to be a low single storey building [located approximately where the basketball court is now] with glass walls facing north and south so that the heritage view of the old building is not obscured.

It’s worth reflecting on what is old and what is new on the Hagley site. While Te Taura is a new building it’s linked to the old, this site before our school was first located here 154 years ago in 1864. It’s linked to our Ngāi Tahu given name, Te Puna Wai o Waipapa, the place of the living spring. Māori came here to meet and collect water in pre-European times, well before 94 years ago when our main heritage block was built. The Te Taura building as well as the three names, Te Puna, Te Taura and Te Kete, are ways we can affirm one of aspirations, reflecting our biculturalism. Click here to read about the significance of the names of the three new builds Te Puna, Te Taura and Te Kete.