Our Staff

Hagley has an exceptional staff dedicated to our students’ wellbeing and successful engagement in their learning. Our staff build relationships with our students, valuing each individual and treating them with trust and respect.

Mike Fowler

Principal

mike.fowler@hagley.school.nz

Mike’s key responsibilities include College operations and developments, as well as the Hagley rebuild. He has been at Hagley since 1987, initially teaching part time in the evening College programme. Mike was Head of English for 14 years and a Deputy Principal for the last seven years.

Ros Jackson

Deputy Principal: Staff Wellbeing

ros.jackson@hagley.school.nz

Ros is our Director of Staffing. She started at Hagley in 1997 as Head of Careers and became a DP in 1999. She has roles in developing Hagley’s education hub roles in the Christchurch schools network, including Youth Futures. Ros is is also a key member of whanau group developments, and in charge of our international programme.

Marie Stribling

Deputy Principal: Student Learning

marie.stribling@hagley.school.nz

Marie leads the College in engaging our students with learning. She has responsibility for leading curriculum design, development and delivery, NCEA assessment as well as building strong self review practices. Marie has been teaching at Hagley since 1986, has been Head of English as well as setting up our tertiary pathways programme.

Rowan Milburn

Deputy Principal: Student Wellbeing

rowan.milburn@hagley.school.nz

Rowan leads our student wellbeing team. She leads our staff in shaping how our students engage with learning, with each other and with our teachers. Rowan directs our school calendar, events, day to day student operations, as well as promotes opportunities for student participation and leadership.

Suzanne Waters

Head of Junior College and Year 11

suzanne.waters@hagley.school.nz

Suzanne has been the Director of the Junior College for over twenty years and of Year 11 for 5 years. She has taught at Hagley since 1988 and is in charge of the pastoral care and discipline for all Yr 9, 10 and 11 students.

Kathryn Constable

Director of Placement and Learning Support

kathryn.constable@hagley.school.nz

Kathryn started her first year at Hagley in 2002, as the Director for Placement and Learning Support. She is responsible for the accurate placement of students into their learning programmes and for all aspects of learning support within the College.

Sarah Denny

Director of Learning Communities

sarah.denny@hagley.school.nz

Sarah oversees the Learning Communities team, including English Language Learning, Diversity Support, Refugee and Migrant Programmes, and After 3 pathway programmes.

Jenni Holden

Director of Student Systems

jenni.holden@hagley.school.nz

Jenni manages and develops our student data systems, including our SMS system, timetabling and facilities use, MOE returns, attendance data, student and caregiver reporting. She also leads data analysis to inform and improve College performance.

Michael Gilchrist

Head of Guidance

michael.gilchrist@hagley.school.nz

Hagley College’s new Head of Guidance comes to us with a wealth of experience in education, both as an English teacher and more recently as a counsellor. Michael welcomes students to come over to Simpson House and meet the team.

Judy Philips

Director of Finance

judy.philips@hagley.school.nz

Judy manages our finance team and oversees the College budget and financial operations.

Sharon Cumming

Director of Enrolments

sharon.cumming@hagley.school.nz

Sharon oversees the team in our busy Enrolment Centre, which handles a wide range of operations from enrolments to student payments.

Kerry Keats

NCEA and Student Systems Administrator

kerry.keats@hagley.school.nz

Kerry oversees NCEA across the College. She is also the ‘go to’ person for staff queries and support in using the SMS system.

Leoni Combrink

Design and Marketing Manager

leoni.combrink@hagley.school.nz

Leoni is new to the College, her role involves designing and implementing the College's promotional materials, web and internal projects.

Lisa Amer

Junior College Enrolments

lisa.amer@hagley.school.nz

Lisa has been at Hagley since 2013. She looks after the Junior College administration and supports the Principal’s Team. Lisa also processes the Junior College enrolments, she's who you will deal with if you are interested in coming to Hagley as a Year 9 or 10 student.

Andy Gorton

Director of Infrastructure and Digital Strategy

andy.gorton@hagley.school.nz

Andy directs our infrastructure and IT strategy and developments across the College.

Sherron Harrison

Senior Leadership Team Secretary

sherron.harrison@hagley.school.nz

Sherron is secretary for the Senior Leadership team, Principal’s PA as well as our HR Administrator.

Sue Broadstock

Receptionist

sue.broadstock@hagley.school.nz

Sue is the first point of contact for Hagley visitors. She is the receptionist in our main office.

Graeme Cochrane

Property Manager

graeme.cochrane@hagley.school.nz

Graeme is responsible for the management and care of our facilities, grounds and buildings.

HOD’S and HEADS OF SCHOOLS

Art

Peter Gibson

Careers

Kim Swann

English

Faith Oxenbridge

English Language Learning

Lesley Cowie

Mathematics

Jon Crampton

Performing Arts

Cameron Mattox

College of Practical Design

Vicki Dixon

Physical Education

Bridget Salkeld

Science

Carmen Kenton

Social Sciences

Greg Morton

After 3

Sarah Denny & Pip Judge

Adult Literacy Centre

Jo Fox

Tertiary Pathways

Emma Lumb

Head of Music

Kevin Roberts

School of Cuisine

Marc Alexander

School of Animation

Gavin Hewitt

School of Music

Nanako Sato

School of Fashion

Vicki Dixon

Dance Company

Naressa Gamble

Theatre Company

Cameron Mattox

Pre-Health

Vicky Blake

Urban Farming

Carol Gatehouse

Directions

Natalie Collier

Early Childhood

Jenny O'Sullivan

Writers' Institute

Morrin Rout

DEANS

Year 13 Dean

Tina Munro

Year 12 Dean

Jenny O'Sullivan

Year 11 Dean

Natalie Collier

Year 9 Dean

Angela Brett

Year 10 Dean

Anna Williams

Student Support Manager

Donna Steel

Counsellors

Michael Gilchrist

Leanne Buchan

Nurse

Anne Farrell