Upcoming School Closures and Dates

There are a number of important events happening this term. Hagley College will be closed for instruction for students during the day on the following dates and times:


Monday 13th March – No classes for Year 9 & 10 (Year 11-13 classes as usual)
Reason: Junior College Profile meetings


Friday 24th March – Closed from 1:45pm (morning and Period 4 classes as usual) – Rescheduled due to illness
Reason: Meeting of teachers from Central City Schools Cluster from 1:45pm-4pm


Thursday 13th April – Closed ALL DAY
Reason: Teacher Only Day – Central City Schools Cluster


Note: All After 3 classes continue as usual.

Parents/caregivers are asked to make appropriate arrangements for students’ care during these school closures. Year 9 & 10 students who are unable to be at home will be supervised on site until 2:45pm on Friday 24th February. Please email the relevant Dean to advise them if your Year 9/10 child will need supervision:

Year 9: angela.brett@hagley.school.nz

Year 10: anna.williams@hagley.school.nz

Other key dates on the school calendar in Term 1:

  • Thursday 2nd March – Junior (Year 9 & 10) Meet the Teacher Evening, 5pm – 8pm
  • Thursday 2nd March – Last chance to get Can-Do cards through school. Must have $6 cash.
  • Thursday 9th March – Student Health Expo Day, 9am-2pm in the Library
  • Tuesday 14th March – Hui in the Café for all new and current Whānau, 6pm – 7:30pm
  • Thursday 16th March – Senior (Year 11-13) Meet the Teacher Evening, 5pm – 8pm

The Junior College is also putting on some Coffee Mornings/Evenings for Parents/Caregivers. You are welcome to attend the morning or evening event:

Tuesday 7th March, 9:30am – 10:30am or Wednesday 8th March, 7pm – 8pm (repeat)

Tuesday 4th April, 9:30am – 10:30am or Wednesday 5th April, 7pm – 8pm (repeat)

The 7/8th March sessions will cover the Parent Portal and School Systems. The 4/5th April sessions will look at Cyber Safety. If you wish to attend, please RSVP to Lisa Amer (379 3090 ext. 884 or email lisa.amer@hagley.school.nz) for catering purposes.

If you have any queries about any of these events, please contact the school on (03) 379 3090.